Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Macquarie University Scholarships for International Postgraduate Research Students


International Postgraduate Research Scholarships (IPRS) and additional International Macquarie University Research Excellence (iMQRES) Scholarships

The International Postgraduate Research Scholarship (IPRS) program was established to maintain and develop international research linkages, and aims to attract top quality postgraduate students to areas of research strength in the Australian higher education sector, and support Australia’s research efforts. This Government funded scholarship covers the tuition fees and compulsory health cover for international postgraduate students of exceptional research promise, for two years for a Masters by research degree or three years for a Doctorate by research. The number of IPRS places funded varies between institutions and from year to year. In addition to the tuition fees covered under the IPRS program, Macquarie University generously offers IPRS awardees a living allowance stipend, and usually supplements the places on offer via its own scholarship scheme.

The Macquarie University Research Excellence Scholarship (MQRES) scheme is a Doctoral (PhD) scholarship program that aims to support exceptional research students enrolled in one of the University’s recognised Concentrations of Research Excellence (CORE), as well as the broader University.


Awards will only be available to applicants who:

• are a citizen of a country other than Australian/New Zealand, and not an Australian Permanent Resident.
• have already completed, or expect to complete in 2011, an Australian four-year undergraduate degree with first class honours or have equivalent research qualifications
• are enrolling as a full-time student
• will undertake a Masters by research degree or Doctorate (only PhD candidates are eligible for an iMQRES) in 2011/12


• IPRS applicants must be commencing full-time enrolment for the first time in a higher degree
research program in Australia
• IPRS applicants who commenced a higher degree research degree and terminated that enrolment within 6 months of commencement may still be eligible for scholarship
• Scholarship holders must be resident in Australia during their award tenure, unless on approved overseas research leave.


This information provides a general overview. Applicants should always review the terms of their individual award offer and conditions in their letter of offer of scholarship.

All successful IPRS PhD applicants will receive 3 years of tuition fee and compulsory health cover support, with an extension of up to 6 months possible. Successful Masters by research candidates receive IPRS funding for 2 years. Additionally, successful IPRS applicants will receive a matching Macquarie University Research Excellence Scholarship stipend at the Australian Postgraduate Award (APA) stipend rate, currently $22,860 pa, tax exempt (2011).

The iMQRES, available for PhD candidates only, offers the same stipend plus tuition fees for 3.5 years. Applicants who are offered an iMQRES need to pay for their overseas health cover upfront for the duration of their visa, as required by visa regulations. Successful IPRS PhD candidates will be asked to pay for their compulsory health cover for their fourth year of permitted enrolment upfront. Neither the IPRS nor the iMQRES cover relocation costs.


The Higher Degree Research Office at Macquarie University provides a single application form to apply for both candidature and scholarship.

To apply:

1. complete an application form, and include:
2. original or certified copies of all academic transcripts. An official translation must be included if documents are not in English;
3. a certified copy of your birth or citizenship certificate, or your ID card, or the identity page of your passport
4. an original or certified copy of documents providing evidence of any name change
5. a project proposal outline with reference list (check with Faculty/Department of interest for length)
6. TWO academic referees: If one is your proposed supervisor, then please obtain a third reference. A referee report form should be forwarded to your nominated referees. Your referee does not have to fill in information they can not comment on, and may attach a letter if they have additional comments for the selection committee. A standard referee report form is available from the HDR Scholarships Forms and Conditions webpage:

Each referee should complete and return the form directly to the University no later than

9 September 2011. Due to the number of applications and reports we receive we would ask you to please check directly with your referee if you wish to know if these reports were sent. If time permits, we will send you an email if we have not received your referee’s reports.

Applications may not be considered if all required

documentation has not been received

Application instructions and the link to the downloadable application form is
available at:

Further information about scholarships

For enquiries regarding conditions of award, or the scholarship application process contact:

Higher Degree Research Office
Building C5C, Level 3 East
Macquarie University NSW 2109

Tel:(02) 9850 9782
or (02) 9850 1893
Fax (02) 9850 6198

Please quote on your application when applying for this scholarship

Bookmark and Share

Other Recommended Scholarships

Join us and fill in the form below with your email address to get free scholarship information:

Privacy Guarantee: we will not share your personal information with anyone.


Post a Comment

Get free scholarship Info into your inbox!

Fill in your e-mail address below to get free scholarship information:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Click on "Like" to receive scholarship updates via facebook

Recent Scholarships

free counters

Blog Archive

Scholarship Team: Ph.D Scholar Krisstofferson Joniel Scholarship Adviser, PhD Scholar Vitom Chea Scholarship Adviser, PhD Scholar Rebecca T. Dalisay Scholarship Adviser, Ph.D Student Jiao Wang Scholarship Coordinator, MSc Student Dennise Maricel Scholarship Coordinator
Creative Commons License
The published information is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
Creative Commons
Scholarship Team: Ph.D Scholar Krisstofferson Joniel Scholarship Adviser, PhD Scholar Chea Vitom Scholarship Adviser and Senior Lecturer, PhD Scholar Rebecca T. Dalisay Scholarship Adviser, Ph.D Student Jiao Wang Scholarship Coordinator, MSc Student Dennise Maricel Scholarship Coordinator